event

The effects of climate change in marine spatial planning: pathways and solutions.

Date: October 01, 2020

Place:  Online, Online -

Description of the event: The online event on The effects of climate change in marine spatial planning: pathways and solutions, will be held on Thursday, 1 October 2020 at 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC. Presented by: Catarina Frazão Santos from the University of Lisbon and NOVA-SBE. As marine spatial planning (MSP) operates in a changing ocean, properly addressing and integrating climate effects is vital. However, few marine spatial plans properly or explicitly consider climate change. This is a complex topic, full of intricacies, dimensions, and challenges (scientific, socioeconomic, and political), and multiple solutions will be needed. We highlight ways forward, based on real examples around the globe, on how climate change can be integrated into MSP. Links with global ocean governance goals and sustainable development will be explored. Co-sponsors: OCTO (EBM Tools Network, The Skimmer, OpenChannels, MPA News, MarineDebris.info)

Type: Open

Share: