Center for Advance Studies in the Med


Paris, France website

CIHEAM is an intergovernmental organisation created in 1962 with the vision of enhancing scientific and technical cooperation in the Mediterranean in the fields of agriculture, food, fishery and rural territories. This organisation is composed of thirteen member states i.e. Albania, Algeria, Egypt, France, Greece, Italy, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Portugal, Spain, Tunisia and Turkey. CIHEAM pursues this cooperation mission through specialised training, networked research, and political partnership. CIHEAM possesses five headquarters: 4 Mediterranean Agronomic Institutes (MAI) based in Bari (Italy), Chania (Greece), Montpellier (France), and Zaragoza (Spain), and the General Secretariat which is located in Paris (France).
  • Permanent
Geographical coverage
  • Mediterranean (widespread)
Intended Users
  • Businessmen/Companies
  • General public
  • Policy-makers/managers/planners
  • Researchers and scientists
Source of funding
  • Public funding
Information format
  • Observatory
  • Documents
Information sources
  • Own production
Country coverage
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • France
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Lebanon
  • Malta
  • Morocco
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
Languages available
  • French
Downloadable databases
  • No